Festival Calendar

Mo 7 14 21 28
Tue 1 8 15 22 29
We 2 9 16 23 30
Thu 3 10 17 24
Fr 4 11 18 25
Sa 5 12 19 26
Su 6 13 20 27
Mo 5 12 19 26
Tue 6 13 20 27
We 7 14 21 28
Thu 1 8 15 22 29
Fr 2 9 16 23 30
Sa 3 10 17 24 31
Su 4 11 18 25
Main Sponsor
Participant's Guide
Participant's Guide maltafestival poznań 2010 more
Facebook - Share Twitter - Share Blip - Share Flaker


Date: 2010-07-03
Hour: 17:00
Normal price: admission free
Duration: 55 min
Venue: Poznań Archaeological Museum , audiovisual room


Wim Vandekeybus (born 1963) is a Flemish choreographer, director and actor. He has taken part in Jan Fabre’s projects, including The Power of Theatrical Madness (De macht der theaterlijke dwaasheden), Lichaampje, Lichaampje aan de wand and Guerriers de la beaute. In 1986 he founded his own group, Ultima Vez. In 1988 he won the New York Bessie Award for the show What the Body Does Not Remember. He has created numerous shows featuring international casts. In his works he reflects on the categories of instinct, risk and the similarities between the human and the animal world.

Besides the short films and film and video fragments that are part of performances, Wim Vandekeybus has directed several video adaptations of his dance productions. By putting elements of his performances in other contexts and locations, Wim Vandekeybus gives them a totally new dynamic and rhythm. In May and June 2004 he shot a 52-minute feature based on his successful performance, Blush. Carried by the music of David Eugene Edwards and Woven Hand, with texts by the Flemish author Peter Verhelst, Blush is a dazzling voyage swinging between the heavenly landscapes of Corsica and the slummiest depths of Brussels. It is an exploration of the savage subconscious, mythical forests, conflicting instincts and the imagination in which the body has reasons unknown to the mind. In dance sequences of attraction, confrontation and repulsion the performers take on animal metamorphoses.

Written & directed by: Wim Vandekeybus

Photography: Lieven Van Baelen

Editing: Dieter Diependaele

Original music: David Eugene Edwards

Sound design: Charo Calvo

Sound supervisor: Benjamin Dandoy

Costume design: Isabelle Lhoas

Dialogues: Peter Verhelst & Ultima Vez

Created with & performed by: Laura Arís Alvarez, Elena Fokina, Jozef Frucek, Ina Geerts, Robert M. Hayden, Germán Jauregui Allue, Linda Kapetanea, Thi-Mai Nguyen, Thomas Steyaert, Wim Vandekeybus

Also featuring: David Eugene Edwards, Daniel McMahon, Ordy Garrison, Shane Trost

Produced by: Bart Van Langendonck, Emilie Blézat, Ellen De Waele

Executive producers: Ruben Goots, Ellen De Waele

Coproduction CCCP (Brussels), Sciapode (Paris), Ultima Vez (Brussels)

With the support of het Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds (VAF), le Centre National de la Cinématographie (CNC), Le Fresnoy – Studio national des arts contemporains, ADAMI, Collectivité Territoriale de Corse & France 3 Corse, Telesonne, Image Plus