Meeting with Jan Lauwers

Duration: 1h 30


Jan Lauwers, theatre director, founder of group - Needcompany. Needcompany was founded in 1986 as an independent theatre group by Jan Lauwers (1957) who is the group's artistic director; he is also the stage manager, a visual artist and writer. In 1992 the group was joined by Grace Ellen Barkey who makes her own productions. These are situated on the borderline between theatre, dance and performance art. Apart from dance and theatre shows, Needcompany has also produced numerous video projects and a feature film, Goldfish Game. From the very beginning, the group has been working in an international, multilingual and multidisciplinary environment.

Anna R. Burzyńska is a theatre researcher and critic. She is a junior staff member at the Department of Theatre, Jagiellonian University. Since 2000, she has been a member of the editorial staff of the magazine Gazeta Teatralna „Didaskalia”, and between 2004 and 2010 a theatre reviewer for Tygodnik Powszechny. She has published the books: Mechanika cudu (The Mechanics of a Miracle, 2005) and The Classics and the Troublemakers (2008). Her main focus is on contemporary European theatre, the connections between theatre, music and the modern media, as well as 19th and 20th-century Polish and German drama.

Grzegorz Niziołek is a critic and Professor at the Jagiellonian University and the Ludwik Solski Academy for the Dramatic Arts in Krakow. He was one of the founders and editors in chief of Gazeta Teatralna "Didaskalia". From 2004 to 2007 he worked as a literary manager in Stary Teatr, Krakow. At present, he is the artistic director of the Dialogue of Four Cultures Festival, Łódź. He has published the following books: Sobowtór i Utopia. Teatr Krystiana Lupy (The Double and Utopia. The Theatre of Krystian Lupa, 1997); Sny, komedie, medytacje (Dreams, Comedies, Meditations, 2000); Ciało i słowo. Szkice o teatrze Tadeusza Różewicza (The Body and the Word. Eassays about Tadeusz Różewicz's Theatre, 2004) and Warliowski.Extra ecclesiam (2008).