Why Slow Man? A meeting with the creators of the opera

Date: 2012-07-06
Hour: 15:00
Normal price: admission free
Duration: 2 h
Venue: Culture Pathway


participants: J.M. Coetzee, Nicholas Lens, Maja Kleczewska, Bassem Akiki

moderator: Paweł Goźliński

a screening of Nicholas Lens’ film Love is the only master I'll serve

J.M. Coetzee is a South African writer, presently a citizen of Australia. He has been twice awarded the Booker Prize: for the Life and Times of Michael K. in 1983 and Disgrace in 1999. In 2003 he received the Nobel Prize for literature. In his writing Coetzee portrays people isolated
and implicated in political and social affairs. He is also a literary critic and translator from Dutch and Afrikaans, the author of the libretto for Nicholas Lens’s opera Slow Man, which has its world premiere at the Malta Festival Poznan 2012.

Maja Kleczewska is a highly acclaimed and one of the most provocative Polish theatre directors. She majored in theatre directing at the Ludwik Solski Academy for the Dramatic Arts in Krakow and in psychology at the University of Warsaw.  She has been highly applauded for her productions of Büchner’s Woyzeck (2005); Shakespeare’s Macbeth (2004), A Midsummer Night’s Dream (2006) and The Tempest (2012), and Racine’s Phèdre (2009). In 2007 she received the Polityka magazine Paszport Award in the Theatre category. At this year’s Malta Festival she is directing Slow Man the opera by Nicholas Lens and John Maxwell Coetzee.

Nicholas Lens is a Belgian composer who has written music for numerous plays, dance projects and recordings, including Flamma Flamma(1994), Terra Terra (1999), Amor Aeternus (2005), which comprise the trilogy Accacha Chronicles. He is currently working with Nick Cave on a project entitled Shell-Shock, A Requiem of War to première as part of official celebrations commemorating the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of World War I.  As well Nicholas Lens  prepares a second opera with J. M. Coetzee, a chamber opera this time about Elizabeth Costello.